Tags

, , , , , ,

This piece of literature was my least favourite out of all of the readings provided. This did not interest me at all, and it still after discussion in class does not interest me enough to recommend it. I don’t know if it is my attitude toward literature that the old classics need to be modernised or that there needs to be some relevance to society/life for it to be interesting, but I was strongly disappointed with this.

Image of a Blackbird

I never came across a piece of literature like this throughout my schooling. Which I suppose is my reason for not having an interest in this. I have always considered myself to be well informed when it comes to metaphors and understanding when they are used, but it was not until the tutorial that I realised that the ‘blackbird’ could be substituted for envy, jealousy, lust or many other different emotions. It was when the class discussed deconstruction of texts, and first impressions that it became obvious to me.

There was also a need for prior knowledge about the ‘blackbird’ if the reader is to take it literal. I thought the ‘blackbird’ might have referred to a crow or raven as I did not know that there was actually a bird that was named ‘blackbird’. Again, this was made obvious to me in the tutorial. I also found it interesting that some of my peers found this literature really interesting. I suppose that shows the diversity in the workshop and just how important upbringing, gender, race, class, age and all other factors are when it comes to what you like/dislike.

This reading has many literary features that are described in great detail by moon, and as I have mentioned previously in my reflection of Nicole Kidman’s commercial Chanel No. 5. One of the main features that are present in ‘thirteen ways to describe a blackbird’ is polysemy. The blackbird in this text can mean many different things. The reading also requires a certain amount of semiotic analysis. The reader needs to understand that certain words mean different things, and the reader needs to be able to visualise certain images when reading the literature. This reading also has a lot of denotation/connotation throughout it. The word blackbird for example can be taken literal as a blackbird, but it can also, as I have previously explained, mean envy, jealousy and other emotions. It is really up to how the reader chooses to interpret the reading.

It is important to keep the textual features in mind when reading literature like this, but it is doubtful that students in a classroom will. I am sure that this reading might remain an option when I am teaching in the classroom, to use as stimulus to teach deconstructing the textual features. However, I do not think that future school students will show an interest in this type of text. I think that the use of ‘blackbird’ will confuse students, especially in Australia as this is not a bird we are familiar with. I also think that the literature might be too confusing for students at a secondary school level, as I struggled with it. Although I believe this to be true, I can only speak for myself, and all that I know is what I have been exposed to. People that have had a different upbringing to myself or have different likes/dislikes may think differently.

